Jack Attack

Posted by: John

Jack Attack - 07/17/99 10:56 AM

My copy arrived yesterday afternoon. I have finished the first story and am attempting to resisit skipping directly to the title story, the subject of which I find of particular interest. I always assume, perhaps in correctly, that a short story compilation is ordered in a particular way and should be read in order.
Posted by: Barbara

Re: Jack Attack - 07/19/99 08:54 AM

Sorry to be so slow answering, John; this is my first time online since I left Pittsburgh.

There's a rule of thumb for story order in anthologies: best story first, second-best story last, and third-best story as near to the middle as possible. It's a rule not slavishly adhered to, but it's a guideline most anthologists find helpful.

But that's anthologies, not single-author collections. This is my only experience with a collection and I don't know of any equivalent rule; the editor just left the order up to me. I tried to arrange the stories in a sequence that would make for agreeable reading for someone who's never read them before. I thought a "caper" story would be a good way to ease into the collection, and I didn't want to put something as light as "Ho Ho Ho" immediately after "Jack Be Quick", etc.

In other words, it's all guesswork -- like everything else in publishing.

Re: Jack Attack - 07/19/99 09:34 AM

Well, in that case, perhaps I will skip directly to Jack . . . I wonder why publishing is so far behind other industries in micromanaging every aspect of it market . . . perhaps there is still some artistic sensibility in it?
Posted by: Kay

Re: Jack Attack - 07/19/99 01:16 PM

So, based on that logic, my saving Barbara's contribution to "First Lady Murders" to last, means I am saving the best for last (which of course I knew already)

I've actually been skipping around and carefully putting off all the Edith Wilson stories to read together.

So, pray tell, how do we know which is the "worst" story?