Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#1339 - 04/19/03 01:34 PM A Cadenza for Caruso
CarusoManiac Offline

Loc: Los Angeles, CA, USA
I have just "discovered" you through the marvelous keyword search regarding "Caruso" at the Los Angeles Public Library. I am new to your work and I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. I intend to read the other opera mysteries including the short story collection. I hope you will write more opera mysteries at some point. I suggest using Lauritz Melchior as a subject. Like Caruso, he had a good sense of humour. Forgive me if this has been discussed before, but you have Caruso make a disparaging comment about Wagnerian opera. Did you do this with the knowledge that Caruso sang Lohengrin onstage (albeit before his Metropolitan Opera debut)? In light of this, should i take his comment as ironic, that a good Italian does not listen to Wagner anyway? (see p. 132). I hope I have not been nitpicking. I did enjoy your novel and plan to read the others soon, as I have a lot of downtown this week during theatre rehearsals for a production of Gianni Schicchi in which I am singing Rinuccio. Thank you for the opportunity to contact you. Incidentally, have you read "The Messenger" by Mayra Montero? It is a mystery/romance novel about Caruso in Havana in 1920. If so, would you care to comment on it?

------------------
kevin

#1340 - 04/19/03 01:36 PM Re: A Cadenza for Caruso
CarusoManiac Offline

I meant "downtime" not "downtown". Sorry for the error.

#1341 - 04/19/03 02:04 PM Re: A Cadenza for Caruso
Lorna Offline

Loc: Dayton, Ohio
Kevin, Barbara will be along to answer your question in a while, I'm sure. She lags a few hours behind the rest of us now that she's moved to the wrong side of the country.

Where is this production of Gianni Schicchi you're singing in?

#1342 - 04/19/03 07:59 PM Re: A Cadenza for Caruso
Anonymous
Unregistered