Page 3 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 >
Topic Options
#7478 - 10/10/13 11:01 AM Re: Opera 7 [Re: Lorna]
Christopher Offline

Wow, I'm glad I passed. Austin, what did your wife think?

#7481 - 10/10/13 05:22 PM Re: Opera 7 [Re: Christopher]
Austin
Unregistered

About the same as Lorna, except that she came home raving about Netrebko. But she always does that.

#7539 - 10/27/13 01:41 PM Re: Opera 7 [Re: ]
Christopher Offline

Well, yesterday I did something I've never done before in my life. I walked out on an opera halfway through. I'd read all the rave reviews of The Nose, but to my wife and me, it was unbearably tedious. I'll admit it...I don't get modern opera. And after yesterday, I'm going to stop trying. If that makes me a Philistine, so be it. I'm done.

#7541 - 10/27/13 10:30 PM Re: Opera 7 [Re: Christopher]
Lorna Offline

Loc: Dayton, Ohio
Oh, Chris, I'm so glad you said that! I was feeling embarrassed because I couldn't make it all the way through The Nose. All that crashing dissonance...I guess I don't get modern opera either.

#7542 - 10/28/13 10:44 AM Re: Opera 7 [Re: Lorna]
Austin
Unregistered

I was ready to leave after 10 minutes, but my wife stubbornly insisted on staying. The designer/director was obviously having a ball, but even all those clever projections grew tiresome after a while. Do people really like listening to that kind of music? If they're not just pretending to like it to prove how cool they are, then I am really, really missing something. Barbara, did you go? You asked Andrew about it, I remember.

#7544 - 10/28/13 12:12 PM Re: Opera 7 [Re: Barbara]
Jon Offline

Loc: Newark, Delaware, USA
I went. I loved it. And Austin, I promise I'm not just pretending in order to show how cool I am.