Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#838 - 03/27/00 05:12 PM Casting Director
Kay Offline

Loc: Roanoke, VA , USA
Mention of "The Renewable Virgin" elsewhere started me wondering:

Barbara, have you ever had an actor or actress in mind when you create a character?

I sort of saw Sharon Stone as Kelly in RV....and, probably because she did a creditable job as a female law officer, I can see Frances McDormand as Marian.

I am pretty sure Peters never pictured Cadfael as being anything like Jacobi, wonderful as he is....nor did Dexter visualize anybody like John Thaw for Morse (the TV and book characters are actually quite different in several respects).

#839 - 03/28/00 09:28 AM Re: Casting Director
Barbara Offline
Administrator

Loc: Citrus Heights, CA , US
Strange; I've been asked that before. But no, I don't think of actors while I'm writing. The closest I ever came was with one minor character I was having trouble getting a fix on. So I found a picture in a magazine -- it was one of those ads for hair-restoration for men. I stared at that face until it was the face I saw while I was writing the character. It didn't really help much, so I never tried that again.

And I'd never even heard of Sharon Stone when I was writing The Renewable Virgin! But it's interesting that you should see Kelly as a blond.  

#840 - 03/28/00 03:19 PM Re: Casting Director
Kay Offline

No, I realize that Stone is probably "post virgin" (no pun intended) and as of now maybe a bit overripe for Kelly.

Yes, I saw her as a blonde, although, perhaps you described her otherwise and I missed it.....been a while since I read the book.

But she seems (in the later books in which she appears as too minor a character for Stone to consider playing) to have "blonde" characteristics....in the better sense. Rather like the Loni Anderson character on "WKRP." Don't make the mistake of thinking she's dumb just because she is blonde and beautiful.