Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#937 - 12/11/00 11:22 AM Ms. Paul, will you answer a question?
Mike Offline

Loc: Brooklyn
I hope it's alright for a stranger to show up and ask you a question. Are you a cop? Did you use to be a cop? I'm a cop, a Brooklyn Borough detective. I don't like procedurals because they always get it wrong. But, my wife kept at me to try one of yours, so I did and went on to read all the Marian Larch books. I never worked a Manhattan precinct, but the department politics you talk about there, you could have been talking about Brooklyn. Lady, you got it dead right. I used to work for a guy like Captain DiFalco, a liar, always playing the angles. And it worked, he's now a watch commander. Even the atmosphere is right, i don't mean atmosphere, starts with a. So I have to ask, have you ever been a cop?

#938 - 12/11/00 02:53 PM Re: Ms. Paul, will you answer a question?
Rita Offline

Loc: St. Paul, MN
Ambience?

#939 - 12/11/00 05:15 PM Re: Ms. Paul, will you answer a question?
Barbara Offline
Administrator

Loc: Citrus Heights, CA , US
Oh, what a nice Christmas gift -- thank you, Mike. And call me Barbara.

No, I was never a cop; don't have what it takes to do that job. I just did the usual writer-ish thing of researching my subject. I read a lot about the structure of the NYPD and called some precinct houses with questions and had a nice long chat with the PR officer, Lt. O'Connell. Everyone was wonderfully helpful and explained things I couldn't figure out on my own (such as when Homicide is called in when someone dies in a fire and when it stays with the Arson Squad).